Developers: Use SkyDrive to Backup App Data

After moving from my HTC HD7 to the Nokia Lumia 800 I had to start my Angry Birds 3 star ‘cheevo mission all over again! So I get a bit more out of the game but some of those levels are darn tough! I would love to give over a bit of Skydrive to have my apps all be backed up! If I switch phones (Lumia 900 hopefully in the future!) or have a mega fail, well a few clicks some username/passwords and I can be back up and running straight away. So please if you are a developer please enable this feature……..

Developers: Use SkyDrive to Backup App Data

February 18, 2012 | By andrewbares

One of the issues with Windows Phone is that you lose all your apps’ data when you upgrade to a new phone. However, developers can fix this by quickly implementing a backup/restore system via SkyDrive.

I realized that Windows Phone apps needed a backup solution, and so I added a simple SkyDrive backup system to my homework planner app, Power Planner. If you’re a developer, read the tutorial below to learn how to add the same system to your app!

Live Connect Account

First, you’ll have to setup a SkyDrive API account if you don’t have one. Go to the Live Connect site and login. It should prompt you to add your app’s details. Fill in your app name and language and click I Accept. Then go to the Application Settings Page, open the API Settings, and change the Mobile client app option to YES. Copy your Client ID number because you’ll need it later!

Read more via Developers: Use SkyDrive to Backup App Data | WMPoweruser.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

